The winner of the Estonian Republic 100 tv-series competition is „Bank“

The winner of the Estonian Republic 100 television series competition, „Bank“, focuses on the real life events that took place in turbulent 1990s Estonia. In the backdrop of historical events of the era, a personal drama unfolds forcing those involved to reevaluate the exchange rates at the same time as their personal value systems.
Production company: Itamambuca
Scriptwriters: Eero Epner, Tarmo Jüristo
Directors: Marianne Kõrver, Jan-Erik Nõgisto, Juhan Ulfsak, Rainer Sarnet
Producer: Paul Aguraiuja
DOP: Meelis Veeremets, Ants Martin Vahur
Production Designer: Kairi Mändla
Cast: Sergo Vares, Priit Võigemast, Evelin Võigemast, Gert Raudsep, Kaspar Velberg, Inga Salurand
The 10-part series will screen in the framework of the Estonian Republic 100 celebration program on Estonian Television starting in the autumn of 2018.

“The masterful writing of the winning series is a complex, tense look at our recent history,” said one of the jury members, a theatre director Margus Kasterpalu. “The story isn’t limited to the birth and lifespan of just one bank, it also examines other layers of society and the connections between them. The big events and changes of the era affect different people differently – both the winners and the losers.”

The head of the Estonian Film Institute Edith Sepp added that the Estonian Republic 100 competition was a completely new endeavor for the Estonian Film Institute. “The competition included an almost year-long television drama writing workshop run by Frans Baunsgaard and Steen Bille from Denmark,” she said. “Thanks to the long development period and the serious commitment from the authors, the four final projects were enjoyable, unique and bold stories.”

In addition to „Bank“, the jury considered the series „39/40“ written by Tiit Aleksejev, „Arabella“ written by Lauri Lippmaa and „Jaik“ written by Juhan Raud and Laura Raud.

In addition to Margus Kasterpalu, the jury included the head of entertainment programming at the Estonian Public Broadcasting, Mart Normet, the commercial director of Cinamon Holding, Toomas Luhats, and film critic Tristan Priimägi. The Estonian Film Institute was represented in the jury by Edith Sepp, Piret Tibbo-Hudgins and Endel Koplimets.

The television series competition held in honor of the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia started in November of 2014 when twenty seven ideas were submitted and four were chosen for the next round. The winning ideas each received 5000 Euros for script development and the opportunity to develop their projects during the television series workshop. The chosen projects presented scripts for the first three episodes and treatments for the rest of their series in September. The expert jury decided to allocate development support of 60,000 Euros to the project “Bank”. The winning series will continue development until the summer of 2017.

The competition was organized by the organizing committee of Estonian Republic 100 and the Estonian Film Institute. The competition is funded by the Government Office of the Republic of Estonia.